Ladder Of Divine Ascent

Reading Schedule for 2022

JMJ

ATRADITIONAL LENTEN practice in the eastern churches is to read St John’s Ladder of Divine Ascent bit by bit through the Fasting Season. (There’s a PDF here.) Although our Western Lent is a couple of days shorter, it can be done. Here’s a reading schedule if you’d like to read along. Although these are divided into two portions each day, one each for Morning and Evening prayer, you can read in any way that works for you. Please note that while it is available for Kindle, that edition doesn’t seem to have the paragraph “verse” numbers in that edition. The edition from Paulist Press (which I might otherwise prefer) also does not seem to have the verse numbers.

Wed March 21:1-7 / 1:8-18
Thu March 31:19-27 / 2
Fri March 43:1-15 / 3:16-29
Sat March 54:1-10 / 4:11-15
Sun March 6 (Lent 1)4:16-22 / 4:23-26
Mon March 74:27-30 / 4:31-34
Tue March 84:35-41 / 4:42-57
Wed March 94:58-71 / 4:72-91
Thu March 104:92-109 / 4:110-112
Fri March 114:113-126 / 5:1-12
Sat March 125:13-18 / 5:19-23
Sun March 13 (Lent 2)5:24-28 / 5:29-42
Mon March 146 / 7:1-16
Tue March 157:17-31 / 7:32-47
Wed March 167:48-56 / 7:57-70
Thu March 178:1-18 / 8:19-29
Fri March 189 /10
Sat March 1911 / 12
Sun March 20 (Lent 3)13 / 14:1-23
Mon March 2114:24-36 / 15:1-16
Tue March 2215:17-29 / 15:30-41
Wed March 2315:42-55 / 15:56-65
Thu March 2415:66-75 / 15:76-81
Fri March 2515:82-90 / 16
Sat March 2617 / 18
Sun March 27 (Lent 4)19 / 20
Mon March 2821 / 22:1-28
Tue March 2922:29-46 / 23:1-18
Wed March 3023:19-37 / 23:38-52
Thu March 3124:1-19 / 24:20-34
Fri April 125:1-9 / 25:10-29
Sat April 225:30-51 / 25:52-69
Sun April 3 (Lent 5)26:1-16 / 26:17-27
Mon April 426:28-50 / 26:51-69
Tue April 526:70-88 / 26:89-109
Wed April 626:110-123 / 26:124-139
Thu April 726:140-153 / 26:154-170
Fri April 826:171-189 / 26a:1-37
Sat April 926a:38-65 / 27:1-16
Sun April 10 (Palm Sunday)27:17-28 / 27:29-40
Mon April 1127:41-56 / 27:57-70
Tue April 1227:71-87 / 28:1-16
Wed April 1328:17-29 / 28:30-50
Holy Thu April 1428:51-64 / 29
Good Fri April 1530:1-19 / 30:20-end

Edited in on 2 March. The following schedule actually makes more sense: it starts earlier so as to allow for the readings to end on Wednesday of Holy Week and also to not-read on Sundays (traditionally not part of Lenten disciplines). I’m going to catch up to this one.

Mon February 211:1-7 / 1:8-18
Tue February 221:19-27 / 2
Wed February 233:1-15 / 3:16-29
Thu February 244:1-10 / 4:11-15
Fri February 254:16-22 / 4:23-26
Sat February 264:27-30 / 4:31-34
Sun February 27Sunday Before Lent
Mon February 284:35-41 / 4:42-57
Tue March 14:58-71 / 4:72-91
Wed March 24:92-109 / 4:110-112
Thu March 34:113-126 / 5:1-12
Fri March 45:13-18 / 5:19-23
Sat March 55:24-28 / 5:29-42
Sun March 6LENT 1
Mon March 76 / 7:1-16
Tue March 87:17-31 / 7:32-47
Wed March 97:48-56 / 7:57-70
Thu March 108:1-18 / 8:19-29
Fri March 119 /10
Sat March 1211 / 12
Sun March 13LENT 2
Mon March 1413 / 14:1-23
Tue March 1514:24-36 / 15:1-16
Wed March 1615:17-29 / 15:30-41
Thu March 1715:42-55 / 15:56-65
Fri March 1815:66-75 / 15:76-81
Sat March 1915:82-90 / 16
Sun March 20LENT 3
Mon March 2117 / 18
Tue March 2219 / 20
Wed March 2321 / 22:1-28
Thu March 2422:29-46 / 23:1-18
Fri March 2523:19-37 / 23:38-52
Sat March 2624:1-19 / 24:20-34
Sun March 27LENT 4
Mon March 2825:1-9 / 25:10-29
Tue March 2925:30-51 / 25:52-69
Wed March 3026:1-16 / 26:17-27
Thu March 3126:28-50 / 26:51-69
Fri April 126:70-88 / 26:89-109
Sat April 226:110-123 / 26:124-139
Sun April 3LENT 5
Mon April 426:140-153 / 26:154-170
Tue April 526:171-189 / 26a:1-37
Wed April 626a:38-65 / 27:1-16
Thu April 727:17-28 / 27:29-40
Fri April 827:41-56 / 27:57-70
Sat April 927:71-87 / 28:1-16
Sun April 10PALM SUNDAY
Mon April 1128:17-29 / 28:30-50
Tue April 1228:51-64 / 29
Wed April 1330:1-19 / 30:20-end
Thu April 14Maundy Thursday
Fri April 15Good Friday
Sat April 16Holy Saturday
Sun April 17CHRIST IS RISEN!